Suite in the Old Style | Alfred Schnittke (1934–1998)

  • Pastorale
  • Balletto
  • Minuetto
  • Fuga
  • Pantomima

Vocalise | Sergei Rachmaninov (1873–1943)

Mélodie | Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893)

Valse—Scherzo | Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893)


Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 94a | Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953)

  • Moderato
  • Presto
  • Andante
  • Allegro con brio

Le Grand Tango | Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992)


Stanislav Pronin, violin | Michelle Schumann, piano

Stanislav Pronin

Canadian violinist and composer Stanislav Pronin was born in Moscow, Russia and began his violin studies upon his immigration to Israel at the age of 8. His first teacher was his grandfather, Veniamin Pronin, a student of Pyotr Stolyarsky and former Professor at the Odessa Conservatoire. Stanislav continued his studies at Indiana University with Nelli Shkolnikova and Jaime Laredo, as well as composition lessons with Professor Sven-David Sandstrom, and later at the Hochschule für Musik in Köln, Germany, with Professor Zakhar Bron.

Just as his grandfather who, in his time, had worked closely with numerous composers, including Dmitri Shostakovich, Stanislav is an avid performer of new music. He has worked with and premiered works of such composers as John Adams, Fabian Panisello, Murray Schafer, Ned Rorem, Toivo Tulev, Hans Abrahamsen and Lera Auerbach.

Stanislav is a recipient of multiple awards from such organizations as the American String Teachers Association, America-Israel Cultural Foundation, Canada Council for the Arts, and Classical Artists Development Foundation. He is a laureate of numerous international competitions, including Michael Hill, Wieniawski, and Queen Elizabeth.

Student Performance:

Weiran Jiang, violin

Michelle Schumann, piano

Henryk Wieniawski (1835-1880)
Violin Concerto No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 22
II. Romance: Andante non troppo

Follow ACMC
Send this to a friend