It’s All Greek to Me


Violin Sonata in G Minor, B.g10 “Didone abbandonata” | Giuseppe Tartini (1692–1770)

  • Affettuoso
  • Presto
  • Allegro

Cinq mélodies populaires grecques | Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)

  • Chanson de la mariée
  • Là-bas, vers l’église
  • Quel galant m’est comparable
  • Chanson des cueilleuses de lentisques
  • Tout gai!

Constantinople: III. Odd World | Christos Hatzis (b. 1953)


Piano Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 1, No. 1 | Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

  • Allegro
  • Adagio cantabile
  • Scherzo. Allegro assai
  • Finale. Presto


Sonja Larson, violin | Nora Karakousoglou, cello | Michelle Schumann, piano

Nora Karakousoglou

A native of Athens, Greece, Nora Karakousoglou is an active performer and teacher, working in the United States and Europe. She completed her undergraduate work at Cleveland State University, her Master of Music as well as a Graduate Performance Diploma at the Boston Conservatory, and earned a Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the University of Texas at Austin in 2016. She serves as cello faculty and is an artist in residence at the Armstrong Community Music School. Nora frequently performs with Local Opera Local Artists (LOLA). She has collaborated with Dr. Michelle Schumann, artistic director of the Austin Chamber Music Center, and has participated in the Victoria Bach Festival. Nora is the recipient of the Hellenic-American Women’s Award in Chicago, as well as achievement awards and competition prizes in Greece and abroad. Nora has earned a Soloist Diploma from the Athens Conservatory, the First Prize in Cello Performance and Chamber Music from the ENM d’Aulnay-sous-bois in France, as well as a Médaille d’Or in Formation Musicale. In her free time, Nora likes to cook, go fishing and hiking, and to speak English with a heavy Greek accent.

Student Ensemble Performance

2018/2019 Merit Scholarship String Quartet:

Kai Cole, violin
Laoise Matsumoto, violin
Diana Salinas, viola
Isaac Molloy, cello

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 13
I. Adagio – Allegro Vivace

Follow ACMC
Send this to a friend