Emerson String Quartet



String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 131 | Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

  • Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo
  • Allegro molto vivace
  • Allegro moderato
  • Andante ma non troppo e molto cantabile
  • Presto
  • Adagio quasi un poco andante
  • Allegro


String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat Major, Op. 130 | Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

  • Adagio ma non troppo
  • Presto
  • Andante con moto ma non troppo
  • Alla danza tedesca. Allegro assai
  • Cavatina. Adagio molto espressivo
  • Große Fuge

Emerson String Quartet

The Emerson String Quartet has amassed an unparalleled list of achievements over four decades: more than thirty acclaimed recordings, nine Grammys®, three Gramophone Awards, the Avery Fisher Prize, Musical America’s “Ensemble of the Year” and collaborations with many of the greatest artists of our time.
Formed in 1976 and based in New York City, the Emerson was one of the first quartets whose violinists alternated in the first chair position. The Emerson Quartet is Quartet-in-Residence at Stony Brook University. During the spring of 2016, full-time Stony Brook faculty members Philip Setzer and Lawrence Dutton received the honor of Distinguished Professor, and part-time faculty members Eugene Drucker and Paul Watkins were awarded the title of Honorary Distinguished Professor. In January 2015, the Quartet received the Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award, Chamber Music America’s highest honor, in recognition of its significant and lasting contribution to the chamber music field.

Follow ACMC
Send this to a friend