Noontime in the City-FREE

Thursday, July 18, 2013 from 12:05pm | Austin TX

Event Details

aeolus 269 cropped


Praised by Strad Magazine for their “high-octane” performance, the Aeolus Quartet is among the finest young string quartets performing today. Violinists Nicholas Tavani and Rachel Shapiro, violist Gregory Luce, and cellist Alan Richardson formed the Aeolus Quartet in 2008 at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Since its inception, the all-American quartet has been awarded prizes at nearly every major competition in the United States, and performed across the globe to great acclaim. Luke Quinton of the Austin-American Statesman writes, “The Aeolus Quartet is a powerful and thoughtful group of young musicians who are plotting an ascending course…this vibrant group shows great promise.”

No tickets or reservations are required, seating is on a first come basis.


Fantasia for Four Viols | Henry Purcell

Ariel Ascending (1995) for String Quartet | Christopher Theofanidis

  • begins with a breath, lines intertwined
  • fleeting, delicate
  • exuberant, brilliant

Aeolus Quartet
Nicholas Tavani, violin • Rachel Shapiro, violin • Gregory Luce viola • Alan Richardson cello

design © 2014 lucid crew