String Theory

Saturday, April 13, 2013 from 7:30pm | Austin TX

Event Details


In-synch in spirit, mind, and musical insight, Saturday Synchronisms take chamber music into the First Unitarian Church on Saturday nights, a venue small enough to maintain the intimate vibe, but big enough to let the sound come alive. The scene is casual, but spell-binding. Expect something divine to happen, but leave all the formality of heaven behind.

Tickets: $25 per person

Click here to Purchase Single Tickets

A Special Pre-Concert Dinner Austin Chamber String Theory Enjoy a specially prepared three course pre-fixe menu inspired by the music of Mozart! $18 per person ~ Gusto Italian Kitchen + Wine bar, 4800 Burnet Road, 512.458.1100 (click the menu to enlarge)

More about these artists

Stephanie Sant’Ambrogio Gregory Allen

Pianist Gregory Allen and violinist Stephanie Sant’Ambrogio combine the force of their instruments for “String Theory,” which presents three pieces: Duo for Violin and Piano by Franz Schubert, Violin Sonata by Fazil Say, and D Minor Sonata by Johannes Brahms. Schubert’s piece spans twinkling, soft passages whose ethereal notes suddenly give way to bold, decisive chords before again becoming airborne. Plucked violin strings punctuate dreamy, asymmetrical washes in Say’s sonata, whereas Brahms’s extended violin notes form a dynamic landscape with which a piano melody contrasts and rejoins, occasionally startling listeners with sudden bursts of tempo and shouts of “Surprise!”


Duo for Violin and Piano in A Major, D. 574 | Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Allegro moderato
Allegro vivace

Sonata for Violin and Piano | Fazil Say (b. 1970)

Sonata for Violin and Piano, Opus 108 | Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Allegro
Andante con moto
Un poco presto e con sentimento
Presto agitato

Student Pre-Performance at 7:20pm

Come early to see one of ACMC’s In-School Chamber Program ensembles from the McCallum Fine Arts Academy.

McCallum Prokofiev Quartet Dylan Feldpausch, violin Corina Santos, violin Ellen Scarborough, viola Annamarie Kasper, cello

Sergei Prokofiev
String Quartet No. 2 in F Major, Op. 92 – I. Allegro sostenuto

Austin Chamber String Theory
design © 2014 lucid crew